Return to D-5 Food Dehydrator with Stainless Steel Shelves
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fantastic Dehydrator February 27, 2021
Reviewer: Kaitlyn from California, United States  
I love that it has a timer so I can set it and forget it. The temperature knob doesn't have actual temperatures but the 5 sections somewhat correspond with the 5 grouping temperatures in the color coded guide on the left side of the panel. Buying a thermometer to monitor the temp more accurately may be helpful, though. It seems to dry evenly (I've only dehydrated carrots, celery, mushrooms and strawberries so far though) across all 5 shelves. The fan did blow some of the carrots/celery off the shelves but they were easy to fetch from the bottom of the dehydrator. Easy to clean and relatively lightweight.  Pretty quiet too! It does have an occasional louder hum at higher temps but not disruptive. My main use for this is to dehydrate various fruits/veggies for backpacking meals. I'm really happy with my purchase and would recommend  it to others!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Great Buy, Made in the USA! March 19, 2019
Reviewer: John Kramer from Wolverine, MI United States  
I loaded this dehydrator with "13lbs" of thick cut venison, rotated the trays at 3hrs and it was finished in another 3hrs; 6 hours for 13lbs, I couldn't believe it! Now, why the 4 Star: It dose not have a temperature gauge, but it does have a hole to insert one (you will wont a long shafted one). The temp dial was installed maybe 10 degrees off (I'm being picky) and there is no accurate way to adjust the temp, without the optional a gauge. This being said, I would still "highly recommend this unit". It disassembles easy, the trays don't get dirty and I place aluminum foil at the bottom to catch any drips. It's looks so slick, I don't wont to get it dirty, oh, and the guys are jealous! Made in the USA!!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 quality small steel dehydrator January 9, 2019
Reviewer: BOB from CALIFORNIA  
Unit was delivered quickly and in good condition and is working well. The unit is very quiet when running with only a small fan noise,  and no rattles,  the fan seems to run a low speed to keep it quiet.
One annoying thing is that the temperature knob has no numbers - only five marks with LOW at one end and HIGH at the other.  There is a colorful guide next to the timer knob of temperatures for different foods - but that is worthless with no numbers on the control knob. There is no color code on the knob, just some white to gray shading.  You just  guess where to set the knob.  Then you  wait around for the temperature to stabilize , check your thermometer, and twiddle the knob til you get in the zone.
They need to update the D5 description to state you need buy a separate thermometer if you do not already have a suitable one.   Also a nice addition to the unit would be a hole in the top and the sides near the front as an optional place to stick your thermometer.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 My teenagers love this August 31, 2018
Reviewer: Ruth from IA  
This is an excellent machine. We make alot of jerky in our household. The kids love using the dehydrator (and eating jerky) although they are high school age. Overall easy to clean and easy to use.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 making jerky August 1, 2018
Reviewer: N. Grole from Mapleville, RI United States  
Use this for jerky only. Happy with all the stainless steel. Easy to clean and maintain. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent June 7, 2018
Reviewer: John D. from Little Rock, Arkansas  
Heavy steel construction, and simple controls that even a geezer like me can use. I've used for jerkies mostly. When done, I spray the trays down with degreaser or soap, allow to soak then throw them in the dishwasher.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 High quality product June 6, 2018
Reviewer: jp from FL, United States  
Works as described. No issues. No complaints. Time to make some serious jerky.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 March 19, 2018
Reviewer: Donna Bergamin from Windsor Ontario, MI United States  
So far it has been great. Not too happy with my jerky skills though. Very easy to clean even without drip pan.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice product fast arrival time January 6, 2017
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I have only used the dehydrator once so far but it is clearly of high quality. It works well. I am very pleased. The product also arrived very quickly. It is a little pricey but nice to have an all stainless design.

Was this review helpful to you?